On 15 April 2014, the South African Institution of Civil Engineering’s second Council meeting for the year took place at SAICE House in Midrand. During the Council meeting the Office Bearers for 2015 were elected and SAICE is pleased to announce the 2015 presidential team.

Malcolm Pautz: President

Malcolm is an Associate Director at KPMG Advisory (Pty) Ltd dealing with transactions and restructuring in the Global Infrastructure and Projects Group. Previously he worked at Nedbank Capital: Investment Banking in the Division of Infrastructure, Energy and Telecommunications. Before that he was a Senior Project Advisor in the Ministry of Finance’s PPP Unit and was involved in the development and implementation of many of the concluded and pending PPPs in the provision of healthcare services in South Africa. He was also part of the Centre for Global Development Working Group to identify and promote the establishment of a Global Advisory Facility for improving public private sector interactions in the delivery of healthcare in developing countries. Malcolm serves on the SAICE Executive Board and previously chaired the SAICE Project Management Division.

David Botha: President-Elect

Dawie spent 19 years at SAICE as Executive Director of the Institution from 1991 to 2010 and was instrumental in putting the civil engineering profession on the map in SA, and raising SAICE’s stature internationally. Although retired, he is still very active within SAICE structures, including acting as council member, member of the Editorial Panel and the History and Heritage Panel. He is also an executive committee member of the South African Academy of Engineering, Professionals in Science, Engineering and Technology (ProSET) of the National Science and Technology Forum (NSTF), the World Federation of Engineering Organizations (WFEO), the Capacity Building Committee hosted by the Engineering Council of South Africa (ECSA) and the International Affairs Committee of ECSA.  

Sundran Naicker: Vice-President

Sundran specialises in roads and transportation and his experience ranges between municipal roads projects, and national and international roads projects. He has also been extensively involved in various traffic and transportation studies. Sundran is past chairman and current committee member of the SAICE Transportation Division, and has also had exposure and involvement with the SAICE Education and Training programme through the Transportation Division. Until 2002 Sundran worked for SNA Civil and Development Engineers before he joined Nyeleti Consulting, where he is now a director.

Chris Herold: Vice-President

From the start of his career Chris has been motivated by the desire to use water for peace in southern Africa and focusses on addressing SA’s looming water crisis. In 1981 he obtained his PhD after developing a suite of hydro-salinity models that for the first time integrated water quality with water resource planning. In 2000 he established Umfula Wempilo Consulting and has participated in a number of studies carried out on behalf of DWA and other clients, and has also led a number of Water Research Commission projects. He is a Senior Fellow of WISA, a Fellow of SAICE, and has served on SAICE’s Water Division committee since 1990, which he has chaired twice. He is also a recipient of the 1997 SAICE award for meritorious research and the 2009 President’s Award.

Errol Kerst: Vice-President

Errol holds BSc and MSc degrees in Civil Engineering from the University of the Witwaterstrand. After working at BKS (now AECOM) he moved to Anglo American where he was involved in mine infrastructure development. After a spell at DVVM he moved to Jones and Wagener where he opened a Secunda office. In 1991 he co-founded the SAICE Highveld Branch and in 1997 he joined Lategan Bouwer as a director and is involved in industrial and mining infrastructure.

Danai Magugumela: Vice-President

Managing Director of Bosch Stemele, Danai has nearly 20 years of experience with a multinational engineering company. She is a former board member of SANRAL, sits on the council of the University of Pretoria, and is a member of the advisory Council of the Faculty of Civil Engineering, Built Environment and IT at the same institution. She holds an MSc in Civil Engineering from Texas A&M University in the USA, and is a Fellow of both the South African Academy of Engineering and the South African Institution of Civil Engineering. She strongly believes in attracting and retaining women in the engineering and the built environment professions.


Leave a Reply